2015 Lairig Ghru race report


After a cold and damp start, the day steadily improved to provide near perfect running conditions for the 161 starters at this year’s Lairig Ghru. It was a case of mission accomplished for last year’s runner up Sam Hesling (Highland Hillrunners), who returned this year to win in 3.15.18, getting clear of Rob Sinclair (Garioch) 3.16.51, on the run in to Aviemore. Chris Hill (Cosmics) was third in 3.26.57. After another close race the first female home was Sarah Hodginkson (Cosmics) in 4.32.09. Second was Hilary Ritchie (Fife) in 4.33.51 and third was Jennifer Ross-Jenkins (DCC) in 4.36.42. Cosmics Chris Hill, Neil Easton and Steven Ord were the first male team and Deeside’s Sam Rendall, Marie Entwistle and Jane Douglas were the first female team.

Thanks to all our sponsors and supporters: Bremners of Aviemore, Run4it Aberdeen, Deeside Water Company, Braemar Community Hall and of course the Mar Lodge and Rothiemurcus estates. As always special thanks to Cairngorm Mountain Rescue Team for their marshalling of the remoter sections of the race and the ever excellent Mountain Café who provide the much appreciated spread at the finish in Aviemore. A big thank you to all the Deeside Runners for marshalling, manning the water stops, registration, kit checks etc. and to the campers at the Coylumbridge who set up the impromptu water/feed station!

Finally, thanks to all the runners without whom there would be no race and a donation of £1000 is on its way to the Cairngorm Mountain Rescue Team.

Kit left:

Red camelback, grey/silver sunglasses, 1 compass – let us know if they are yours.